Kershaw County News

KERSHAW COUNTY HAS ZERO TOLERANCE FOR LITTERING

Post Date:11/07/2019 10:00 AM

PRESS RELEASE 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
November 7, 2019

Media Contact    803.425.1500
Lauren Branham Reeder
Public Information Officer
Lauren.reeder@kershaw.sc.gov 

KERSHAW COUNTY HAS ZERO TOLERANCE FOR LITTERING

Kershaw County, SC – With a code enforcement officer now dedicated to litter control, Kershaw County is adopting South Carolina’s “Zero Tolerance for Littering.” Based on state law, a person may not dump, throw, drop, deposit, discard, or otherwise dispose of litter or other solid waste, including cigarette butts and cigarette component litter, upon waters or public or private property from a vehicle or otherwise. 

“This has been a community concern for some time now and we are excited to be able to tackle this issue with a dedicated litter enforcement officer,” stated George Marthers, Kershaw County Code Enforcement Sergeant. “We will now be able to have a heavier presence and focus on littering violations than ever before.”

In the State of South Carolina, a warning will not be issued for persons caught littering. Based on the amount of litter discarded, a person may be fined a minimum of $25 to $1,000 and will be required to complete community service hours ranging from eight to over 16 hours.

“The biggest litter issue we are currently seeing in the county is illegal dumping of unsecured loads,” replied Marthers. “These unsecured loads are dangerous not only to the driver carrying the unsecured load, but to others on the road as well. Litter in roadways causes unsafe driving conditions which could result in accidents.”

To report a littering problem in Kershaw County, contact Litter Buster’s 24-hour hotline at 877.754.8837 or Kershaw County Code Enforcement at 803.425.6017.

###